

Sent Via Email to albert.carvalho@lausd.net

OFFICERS

CECILY MYART-CRUZ President

ALEX CAPUTO-PEARL UTLA/NEA Vice President UTLA/NEA Affiliate President

JUAN RAMIREZ UTLA/AFT Vice President AFT Local 1021 President

GLORIA MARTINEZ Elementary Vice President

JULIE VAN WINKLE Secondary Vice President

ALEX OROZCO Treasurer

ARLENE INOUYE Secretary

JEFF GOOD
Executive Director

March 16, 2023

Mr. Alberto Carvalho Superintendent, LAUSD 333 Beaudry Ave. Los Angeles CA 90010

Superintendent Carvalho:

SEIU Local 99 has announced its intention to engage in a three-day city-wide strike next week, from March 21–23, to protest the district's unremedied EERA violations as alleged in the dozens of unfair practice charges which SEIU Local 99 has been forced to file and on which PERB has already issued complaints. As you should know, EERA legally protects the right of unions and their members to engage in protected solidarity activity, including a solidarity or "sympathy" strike in support of another union on strike.

We are hereby notifying the district that UTLA intends to fully support SEIU Local 99's UPC strike by engaging in a solidarity strike. We are also notifying you of UTLA members' intent to unconditionally return to work on Friday, March 24, 2023.

Thank You,

Cecily Myart-Cruz President,

United Teachers Los Angeles

Ceilig Thip of Cruz

Executive Director,

United Teachers Los Angeles

CC: Kristen Murphy, LAUSD Chief of Staff

Tony DiGrazia, LAUSD Labor Relations Director

Jackie Goldberg, LAUSD School Board Member. Board President, Board District 5 Scott Schmerelson, LAUSD School Board Member, Board VP, Board District 3

George McKenna, LAUSD School Board Member, Board District 1 Rocio Rivas, LAUSD School Board Member, Board District 2 Nick Melvoin, LAUSD School Board Member, Board District 4 Kelly Gonez LAUSD School Board Member. Board District 6

Tanya Ortiz Franklin, LAUSD School Board Member, Board District 7

UTLA Bargaining Team

Alex Caputo-Pearl, UTLA /NEA VP & UTLA/ NEA Affiliate President

Juan Ramirez, UTLA/AFT VP & AFT Local 1021 President

Gloria Martinez, UTLA Elementary VP Julie Van Winkle, UTLA Secondary VP Arlene Inouye, UTLA Secretary Alex Orozco, UTLA Treasurer

© TRACES [732] COLUMN 202